Pennsylvania Cottage Food Law (2026): Limited Food Establishment Registration, Foods and Labels

Last verified: October 27, 2026 · Written by the UrbanAgLaw.org Editorial Team

Freshly baked pretzels and sesame bagels on a marble table
Quick answer: Pennsylvania does not use the term “cottage food.” Instead, the Department of Agriculture registers home kitchens as Limited Food Establishments. You apply for plan review, pass an inspection of your kitchen, and pay a $35 fee that you renew every year. You may then make shelf-stable foods such as baked goods and jams and sell them directly to consumers, including online. Wholesale is not part of the registration.

At a glance

License or permit
Limited Food Establishment registration with the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture (PDA), including plan review and an on-site inspection
Fee
$35 for the first registration and $35 each year to renew
Annual sales limit
The PDA page does not state a dollar limit
Allowed foods
Shelf-stable, non-hazardous foods that do not need refrigeration after preparation, such as baked goods without cream fillings, jams, jellies, candies and certain snack mixes
Not allowed
Foods that need refrigeration or hot holding
Where you can sell
Directly to consumers from your production site (including online), at farmers markets, community events and roadside stands
Wholesale
Not permitted under this registration
Training required
Not addressed on the PDA page

Who the Pennsylvania rules cover

A Limited Food Establishment is a residential-style kitchen used to make non-hazardous foods that do not need refrigeration after preparation. PDA says this can be a home kitchen, a residential-style kitchen in another place (for example a church, fire hall or remodeled garage or outbuilding), or space on a residential property used to store food. The state food safety law is the Pennsylvania Food Safety Act (Title 3, Chapter 57 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes), and inspections follow the Pennsylvania Food Code.

What you can sell

PDA describes allowed foods as shelf-stable, non-potentially hazardous foods, with baked goods without cream fillings, jams, jellies, candies and certain snack mixes as examples. Foods that need refrigeration or hot holding are prohibited. PDA also has guidance for acid and acidified canned foods, honey, kombucha and maple syrup, so ask the department if you want to make one of those.

Is it covered by a Pennsylvania Limited Food Establishment registration?
FoodAllowed?
Bread, cookies and cakes without cream fillingsYes
Jams and jelliesYes
CandiesYes
Certain snack mixesYes
Canned acid or acidified foods, honey, kombucha and maple syrupAsk PDA PDA publishes separate guidance for each
Baked goods with cream or custard fillingsNo they need refrigeration
Any food that needs refrigeration or hot holdingNo

The PDA page gives examples rather than a full list. If a product is not clearly shelf-stable and non-hazardous, ask PDA before you sell it.

How to register

  1. Download the application packet from PDA or get it from your regional food safety office, complete it and gather the supporting materials.
  2. Submit it to the Bureau of Food Safety and Laboratory Services, Plan Review, by email (PDA’s preferred method), fax or mail. Do not send money with the application.
  3. PDA reviews your plans. If approved, you receive an approval letter by email. If rejected, you receive a letter explaining why and can resubmit.
  4. PDA schedules an inspection of your production site. If you comply with the Pennsylvania Food Code, the inspector collects the $35 fee and gives you a report that serves as temporary proof of registration. PDA then mails the official registration.
  5. Renew every year for $35. PDA mails a notice about two months before expiry, and you can pay online.

PDA asks you to send all materials at least 60 days before you plan to start, and says it decides within 15 business days of review. Incomplete information can delay or end the plan review. If the inspection finds problems, you get a report of deficiencies and can ask for a re-inspection after you fix them.

Pennsylvania cottage food label requirements

PDA says every product must carry a label with:

  • the product name;
  • the ingredients in descending order by weight;
  • the net weight or volume;
  • your business name and address;
  • allergen declarations, if applicable.

Federal law recognizes nine major food allergens: milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans and sesame.

Product nameCinnamon Sugar Pretzel Bites
IngredientsWheat flour, water, sugar, butter, yeast, cinnamon, salt. Contains: wheat, milk
Net weightNet wt. 8 oz (227 g)
Business name and addressExample Home Bakery
123 Sample Street, Anytown, PA 00000
Example label with the parts PDA lists. The product and the business name and address are made up.

Where you can sell

  • Directly to consumers: from your production site, including internet sales, at farmers markets and community events, and at roadside stands.
  • Farmers markets and events: PDA says a Retail Food Facility License may also be required, so ask before you sell at one.
  • Wholesale and restaurants: not permitted. A Limited Food Establishment is for direct-to-consumer sales, and wholesale needs a different license.
  • Across state lines: PDA says you may need FDA registration if you sell to other states.

Training and insurance

The PDA page does not mention a food handler course or insurance. A basic food safety course and product liability coverage are still worth considering, and some markets ask for them. See our guide to liability, risk and insurance.

Local rules and HOAs

PDA suggests contacting your regional food safety office for local guidance. Your city or county may also have zoning or home business rules, and private rules apply too, so check your HOA covenants and lease. For general background, see our planning and zoning guide.

Frequently asked questions

Can I sell food from home in Pennsylvania?

Yes, if you register your kitchen as a Limited Food Establishment, pass inspection and make only shelf-stable, non-hazardous foods.

Does Pennsylvania have a cottage food law?

Not under that name. PDA’s Limited Food Establishment registration is the state program for home kitchens.

How much does registration cost?

$35 for the first registration, collected at a compliant inspection, and $35 each year to renew.

Is there a sales limit in Pennsylvania?

The PDA page does not state a dollar limit.

Can I sell cottage food online in Pennsylvania?

Yes. Direct sales from the production site, including internet sales, are covered. If you ship to other states, PDA says you may need FDA registration.

Can I sell my products to a restaurant or store?

Not under this registration. PDA says wholesale needs a different license.

Note on conflicting sources

PDA’s page says wholesale is not permitted, but it also says some stores may carry your products if the labeling requirements are met. Ask PDA how this works for your product before you approach a store. A Penn State Extension page says Limited Food Establishments are not required to register with the FDA, while PDA says you may need FDA registration for sales across state lines. Many guides online say there is no sales cap and describe other rules, but the PDA page does not state a dollar limit either way. We follow the PDA page.

Official sources

  • Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture: Limited Food Establishment registration page
  • Pennsylvania Food Safety Act, Title 3, Chapter 57 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes
  • Penn State Extension: state and federal regulations for food processors
  • U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA): Food Allergies (FASTER Act, sesame)

This page is general information, not legal advice. Laws change, so check the official sources above or contact PDA before you start selling.